The Basics of Chakras

Here is a quick article on the basics of Chakras. Your physical and spiritual bodies should be in balance so that you will have an optimal living and learning experience while physical here on Earth. Balance in this context is not staying upright and being able to walk in a straight line. It’s about keeping your chakras open to receive consciousness – the universal life force. Understanding and using the light that surrounds you, the light that shines through you, is a key to providing energy balance throughout your body.

the basics of chakras


Your body is surrounded by energy that appears in different colours. Many people can actually see this energy which is referred to as an aura. The colours in your aura should be clear and bright and will change throughout your day depending on your mood, feelings, or mind set. If you are holding onto anger and pain you may have dark or muddy colours in your aura. Your aura will remain muddy until your state of negativity and suppressed emotions, fears and pain are released back into the universe. This requires you to do some work – it doesn’t come for free. Try my online workshop at the bottom of this article.

Picture your chakras as whirling colors of bright energy that act as gateways for the intake of life source energy. If any chakra is blocked you can feel unbalanced or unwell. Below are the color and location of each chakra and an abbreviated explanation of how a blocked chakra can make you feel.

The Basics Of Chakras Explained

Here are the basics of chakras. Let’s go through each, one at a time.

1st Chakra / Base Chakra / Muladhara

The Root or Base Chakra is red and located at the base of the spine. This chakra assists with tasks related to the material and physical world. When blocked you may feel fatigue, have lower back pain, or frequent colds.

2nd Chakra / Sacrel Chakra / Swadhisthana

The Spleen Chakra is orange and located below the naval in the lower abdomen. The Spleen Chakra connects us you to your sensing abilities and issues related to feelings. When blocked you may experience asthma, allergies, urinary problems or sensuality issues.

3rd Chakra / Solar Plexus Chakra / Manipura

The Solar Plexus Chakra is yellow and located above the naval in the stomach area. This chakra balances intellect and ego power. If blocked you may have digestive problems, ulcers, diabetes, or nervousness.

4th Chakra / Heart Chakra / Anahata

The Heart Chakra is green and located in the center of the chest. It controls relationships, love, forgiveness and compassion. If blocked you may experience heart and breathing disorders, high blood pressure, or muscular tension.

5th Chakra / Throat Chakra / Vishuddha

The Throat Chakra is blue and is located in the throat area. The throat chakra controls expressing yourself and your beliefs. It also covers trust and loyalty. If blocked you may experience thyroid imbalance, swollen glands, fevers and infections.

6th Chakra / Third Eye Chakra / Ajna

The Third Eye Chakra is indigo and is located in the middle of your forehead between your eyes. It controls trusting your intuition and insights. It also relates to you developing your psychic abilities. If blocked you may have mouth, jaw, tongue, neck and shoulder problems, hyperactivity or hormonal disorders.

7th Chakra / Crown Chakra / Sahasrara

The Crown Chakra is purple and is located at the top of the head. It controls your “knowingness”, dedication to the divine consciousness and trusting the universe. If blocked you can experience headaches, photo-sensitivity, neuralgia, right/left brain disorders and coordination problems.

Work With Your Chakras

To keep your aura bright and clear, work with the chakra colors. Each day pick a colour and confirm your intention to be aware throughout your day. Often you subconsciously choose which colour and hence which chakra you should actively balance. If the colour of your clothes and the food choices you make throughout the day are all one colour this can be a subtle hint that a certain chakra needs some attention. Pay attention to these signs because they are like an early warning system. Throughout your day as you take note of your chosen colour, say to yourself, “I release all fear, pain and repressed emotions with love into the universe. “


Chakra balancing is especially good during meditation because you can focus your energy more easily. To start, use your imagination and slowly examine each chakra to determine if it could use a little more attention than a general balancing exercise. If extra attention is needed, visualise the chakra color and ask “what will bring this chakra into balance?” Focus on resolving the blockage. Examine your emotions, your thoughts, your fears and allow yourself to affirm your awareness of the issue. Infuse the chakra with bright white light and then consciously release the suppressed energy back into the universe. In some cases this cannot be accomplished during one meditation session. You should not worry about that; instead know that with each meditation you are working towards total release.

Chakra Review

Each meditation should include a review of your chakras. If extra chakra work is not needed, start your review with your base chakra. Focus on the colour, which in this case is red and with clear intent say “My base chakra is in balance and can receive the love of the universe.” Move up through each chakra repeating the same process.

Now you know the basics of chakras, this article is a little more detailed…

The 15 Chakras

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “The Basics of Chakras”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *