Heart Chakra

The fourth chakra is the heart chakra and rests in the center of the chakra system, at the core of your spirit. It’s physical location is the heart, upper chest and upper back. The heart chakra is the balance point, integrating the world of matter (the lower three chakras) with the world of spirit (the upper three chakras).

Through the heart chakra, you open to and connect with harmony and peace. The health of your heart center registers the quality and power of love in our life. In Sanskrit, the heart chakra is called Anahata, which means “unstruck” or “unhurt.” It’s name implies that deep beneath your personal stories of brokenness and the pain in your heart, wholeness, boundless love and a well of compassion reside.

This chakra’s element is air, which spreads and energizes. Like water, air assumes the shape of whatever it fills, yet it is less subject to gravity than water. When you feel swept up in love, you often need to replant your first chakra in order to stay grounded. Air permeates breath, so pranayama practice (breathing exercises) helps balance and tone this chakra. All forms of pranayama can help you use more air, more prana, thereby increasing your vitality and enthusiasm for life.

heart chakra

Posture Opens The Heart

If you notice that you are sitting with your head forward, shoulders rounded and your chest collapsed, it’s a good time to start practicing fourth chakra poses to give your heart some breathing space. When we lead with our head and not with the heart, we may be overly focused on thought and tend to cut ourselves off from the emotions and the body. When the heart chakra is deficient, you may experience feelings of shyness and loneliness, an inability to forgive, or a lack of empathy. Physical symptoms can include shallow breathing, asthma, and other lung diseases.

Asanas that enliven the heart chakra include passive chest openers in which we arch gently over a blanket or bolster, shoulder stretches such as the arm positions of Gomukhasana and Garudasana (Eagle Pose), and backbends. Being an even-numbered and feminine chakra, the heart center naturally yearns to release and let go. Doing movements like backbends develops the trust and surrender you need to open the heart fully.


When you feel fearful, there is no room for love. Your body will show contraction. When you choose love, the fear melts away, and your practice takes on a joyful quality. In many back bending poses, the heart is positioned higher than the head. It’s wonderfully refreshing to let the mind drop away from the top position and instead lead with the heart.

Some signs that the heart chakra is overpowering your life can include co-dependency, possessiveness, jealousy, heart disease, and high blood pressure. For these symptoms, forward bends are the best antidote, because they are grounding and foster introspection. While people with deficient heart chakras need to open to receive love more fully, those with excessive heart chakras find healing by slowing down to discover inside themselves the nourishment they have been seeking from others.

The most powerful way to open, energize, and balance not just the heart chakra but all of our chakras is to love ourselves and others. Love is the greatest healer. Remembering what you love and appreciate as you practice fourth chakra asanas enhances the power of the poses and your general well-being.

Heart Chakra = Balanced Heart

Located near your heart, in the very center of your chest, your fourth chakra is the domain of human intimacy. It is essential to affection, warmth, nurturing, friendship and familiarity. Your fourth chakra is the seat of your ability to feel joy, unity, laughter and especially, love-the very highest power in your life. It expands your capacity to be generous, sensitive, forgiving and tolerant.

With a balanced fourth chakra, the circulation of your blood is healthy and smooth, your heart rhythm is regular and your arteries are clear from blockage.

The fourth chakra is generally considered the most important energy center in your psyche, because it is from this chakra that love emanates. It is naturally associated with family, partners, friends, spiritual family members and animals. When it is balanced, you care about how you affect others. You want to touch them in a positive, nurturing way. You want to reveal to them the power of love.

Heart Chakra Fast Facts:

The heart chakra rules your compassion, forgiveness, generosity and love.

A well-balanced fourth chakra will result in stimulating your highest ideals and desires, and leave you feeling positive and nurturing.

In your body, the fourth chakra governs the heart, circulation, breasts, and arteries.

An apt image for the fourth chakra is an open doorway.

The heart chakra vibrates with the color green.

The heart chakra’s mission statement is: I give, I care, I love.

Balanced Chakra

When your heart chakra is balanced, you non-judgmentally accept yourself and others. You recognize beauty-in yourself and in everyone-while overlooking weaknesses. It is because of a balanced fourth chakra that you are kind and forgiving, as well as quick to pardon. You are also likely to be tolerant, optimistic, resourceful and humorous.

If your heart chakra is off balance or shut down, you might have a tendency to run away from intimacy. You might even intentionally push otherwise loving and lovable people away from you. Without this sense of connection, you become critical, suspicious and defensive. Paranoia becomes a real possibility. If your heart center shuts down completely, you may be inclined toward secrecy, betrayal and addictions.

By closing your heart, you continue to push people away, who in response reject you again, seemingly validating your initial determination to seal yourself off. It’s a self-fulfilling prophecy. Your heart becomes more closed and you become more isolated.

A heart chakra imbalance in the opposite direction which would be too wide open, causes problems too. You can become too empathic, too easily picking up on the anger or depression of others. You live at the mercy of the moods and feelings of those around you. This can be psychically and physically draining.

Let me know how you have your heart chakra in balance – or not? Tell me how this has impacted your life. Comment below or join me and comment on Facebook

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *